MISS SAIGON: the Movie Musical?

Miss SaigonLet me start by saying that Miss Saigon is a musical I’ve always wanted to see make the jump to the big screen. I think it’s already incredibly cinematic and lends itself to the kind of visual expression that a cinema experience can provide.

So, for me, it is great news that Variety is reporting that the industry is abuzz with news that Chestnut Ridge Productions, headed up by ex-Unite Artists CEO Paula Wagner, is gearing up to produce a screen version of Miss Saigon with Lee Daniels at the helm. The film would be a co-production with Cameron Mackintosh with a 2011 release date.

Although no screenwriter has been attached to the film production, word is that the film will remain faithful to its source material, the popular musical retelling of Madama Butterfly that transfers the action to the fall of Saigon in 1975. Despite these rumours of a faithful adaptation, I wonder what changes we’ll see to the show as we know it. I know I’ve always thought that in a film the fall of Saigon – the helicopter scene – could be shifted to its proper chronological place because I don’t feel the last half of the piece would need the lift emotionally or dramatically. But we’ll have to wait and see, I guess…

This entry was posted in Commentary, Movies, Musicals and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to MISS SAIGON: the Movie Musical?

  1. I wanna play Kim!!!!

Leave a Reply

