Live on Broadway: Ethel Merman sings “Rose’s Turn”

Now here’s a real treat: an audio recording of Ethel Merman singing “Rose’s Turn” live, from the original Broadway production of Arthur Laurents and Stephen Sondheim’s Gypsy. It’s a clip that certainly made me respect Merman’s Rose more, although I still don’t think it is comparable to Angela Lansbury’s.

This entry was posted in Arthur Laurents, Stephen Sondheim and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Live on Broadway: Ethel Merman sings “Rose’s Turn”

  1. Lauren Brooke Ellis says:

    I so love Ethel Merman. Thanks for posting the “Rose’s Turn” video. I think she really paved the way for the powerhouse female lead, and I so appreciate her career and the songs she performed that became staples. “I Got Rhythm”, thanks to the joy that was Merman and the Gershwins, is one of the few things on Earth that can always, without fail cheer me up. There was just an unabashed joy in everything she did, and I absolutely adore her.

What are your thoughts?

